What's New?
 Mission statement
 What low power FM offers
 First steps
 Applying for a license
 Production, programming
 People with experience
 Education and advocacy
 Useful links


FCCreleases partial list of accepted Window Four LPFM applications,petition to deny deadline set for April 10, 2002

The FCC announced on March 11, 2002, LPFM applications filed during Window Four (June 11-15, 2002) in the states of Arizona, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey and North Dakota. These are essentially 'singletons', that is, applicants with no other competing LPFM groups for the same frequency.

The FCC stated that applicants who filed in June also in Window Four from Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Island, Vermont and West Virginia, will be listed in subsequent public notices as well as mutually exclusive groups. We assume that Window Five applicants from Alabama, Arkansas, Guam, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Washington will also be notified in subsequent notices from the FCC.

The more immediate task by local communities is to review this list and to file Petitions to Deny by April 10, 2002 with the FCC, if there are any questions or concerns that the LPFM applicant is not truly complying with LPFM eligibility and legal requirements. Contact the Microradio Implementation Project as soon as possible for assistance, or review our website or links to others for Petition to Deny instructions.

FCCpress release

Email this page